Contents16

Pick wired if you never want to charge a keypad, and wireless if you want no cable on the desk. Comparing the US picks, the wired one needs no battery, and the wireless one’s battery is rated for up to 50 hours.

Per the US picks’ maker pages, neither lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. The wireless pick lets you reassign keys in the maker’s web app.

In this guide, typing feel, noise and speed weren’t tested on real hardware and aren’t judged; only the makers’ specs are compared.

Wired, 2.4 GHz or Bluetooth: choosing a connection

A wired keypad runs on USB power, so there’s nothing to charge. A 2.4 GHz keypad talks to a small USB receiver, so it works even on a desktop PC without Bluetooth. A Bluetooth keypad uses the PC’s own Bluetooth and needs no receiver.

Per the US picks’ maker pages, the wired pick plugs into USB-A, and a USB-C version with extra USB-A ports on the side is a separate listing. The wireless pick connects by 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth or a cable.

Keypads by condition: what the table shows

The table shows, for each connection, what the keypads that met this guide’s Amazon.com criteria offer. The criteria, relaxed for US listings as the method notes explain, were:

  • New, and sold by Amazon.com or the maker’s own Amazon store
  • Model number matches the maker’s specs; a number that differs only in naming counts when the connection, layout and size match
  • At least 50 ratings and a 4-star average
  • Windows listed in the maker’s supported OS | Connection | Pick met the criteria | Slim per the maker | Tab, = or Backspace listed | NumLock handling stated | Power | | :— | :— | :— | :— | :— | :— | | Wired USB | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not stated | USB cable, no battery | | 2.4 GHz | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not stated | Battery | | Bluetooth | Yes | Yes | Not listed | Not stated | Battery |

In this guide, the 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth rows are the same wireless pick, which supports both.

In the calculator, pick a connection and whether it should be slim. It lists the keypads checked for US readers that match, and the pick that fits.

Find a numeric keypad by connection

Pick a connection (wired USB, 2.4 GHz or Bluetooth) and whether it should be slim. It lists the keypads checked on Amazon.com for US readers that match, and the pick that fits.

Excel keys: Tab, = and Backspace

A standard number pad has the digits, a decimal point, Enter, the math operators and NumLock. Tab moves to the next cell, = starts a formula, and Backspace fixes a typo, but those keys aren’t standard on a keypad.

Per the US picks’ maker pages, the wired pick has 19 keys and lists no Tab, = or Backspace key. The wireless pick has 27 keys and lists none either, but you can reassign its keys in the maker’s web app.

In this guide, keys are judged by whether the maker lists them. A key missing from the list may still be on the keypad, so check the layout diagram.

The NumLock problem and what makers say

A keypad types numbers only while NumLock is on. With it off, the same keys act as arrows, Home, End and Page Up or Down, so the cursor moves instead. If that happens, press the keypad’s NumLock key first.

Per the US picks’ maker pages, neither says how it handles NumLock, so this guide doesn’t judge it.

Per a legacy Microsoft document (the Windows 2000 registry reference), Windows saves the NumLock state at logoff or shutdown and restores it at the next logon. No current official page on how Windows 11 handles this was found, so this article doesn’t judge it.

Thickness and weight

Per the US picks’ maker pages, the wired pick is 20 mm (0.79 in) tall. It weighs 100 g (3.5 oz). The wireless pick weighs 176.3 g (6.2 oz); its maker calls it ultra-slim but lists no height.

For a laptop bag, the wired pick is the lighter one. The wireless pick saves you the cable.

Wireless battery life and paired devices

Per the US picks’ maker pages, the wireless pick has a 750 mAh battery rated for up to 50 hours. Its product page doesn’t say how many Bluetooth devices it pairs with.

The wired pick has no battery and runs on USB power. The wireless pick can also run on its cable.

Picks for US readers

On Amazon.com as checked in October 2026, two wired Perixx listings met the criteria: the USB-A PPD-202 and the USB-C PERIPAD-202C. The wired pick is the cheaper of the two, shipping included. The wireless pick is the Banana-switch version of the Keychron K0 Max, which is also sold in other switch versions as separate listings.

Slim wired keypad

Perixx lists Windows 7 or higher and doesn’t name Windows 11.

Sold by Amazon.com. This is the USB-A model without a built-in hub. The USB-C model with two USB-A hub ports is a separate listing.

Wireless keypad, Bluetooth or 2.4 GHz

Per the US picks’ maker pages, Keychron lists Windows without naming a version. You can reassign keys in its Keychron Launcher web app, which is how you’d add a Tab or = key.

Sold by the Keychron Store on Amazon. Sold in Red, Brown and Banana switch versions as separate listings; each listing has its own rating count. It has only 97 ratings so far.

FAQ

Is wired, 2.4 GHz or Bluetooth better for a numeric keypad?

Comparing the US picks, wired is better if you never want to charge it, and Bluetooth or 2.4 GHz if you want no cable. The wireless pick supports both.

How long does a wireless keypad’s battery last, and how many devices can it pair with?

In the US picks’ official specs, the wireless pick’s 750 mAh battery is rated for up to 50 hours, and no paired-device count is listed. The wired pick uses no battery.

Do you need Tab, = and Backspace keys on a keypad for Excel?

In the US picks’ official specs, neither lists Tab, = or Backspace. If you need them, use the main keyboard, or reassign keys on the wireless pick in the maker’s web app.

What is the NumLock problem, and why won’t my keypad type numbers?

A keypad types numbers only while NumLock is on. With it off, the keys move the cursor instead.

Per the US picks’ maker pages, neither says how it handles NumLock. Per a legacy Microsoft document (the Windows 2000 registry reference), Windows saves the NumLock state at logoff or shutdown and restores it at the next logon.

No current official page on how Windows 11 handles this was found, so this article doesn’t judge it.

Which numeric keypad is best to carry with a laptop?

Comparing the US picks, the wired pick is lighter at 100 g (3.5 oz). The wireless pick drops the cable and weighs 176.3 g (6.2 oz).

Do numeric keypads work with a Mac?

Per the US picks’ maker pages, both list macOS. The wired pick lists macOS Monterey 12.2 or higher, and the wireless pick names no version.

Data and formulas used (for verification)

Method

  • The English version covers keypads sold on Amazon.com that were checked in October 2026. Specs come only from the makers’ official pages (perixx.com read on October 11 and 24, 2026; keychron.com read on October 24, 2026).
  • Keys are judged by whether the maker lists them. Perixx PERIPAD-202: No extra keys listed. Keychron K0 Max: No Tab, = or Backspace key listed; keys can be remapped in the Keychron Launcher web app. A key that isn’t listed is not treated as missing.
  • Slim means the maker calls the keypad slim. Perixx PERIPAD-202: Slim (the maker calls it a slim keypad, 20 mm high), 100 g (3.5 oz). Keychron K0 Max: Ultra-slim per the maker, low-profile keycaps (no height listed), 176.3 g (6.2 oz).
  • Neither maker’s page states how NumLock is handled, so that isn’t judged. For Windows itself, the only official source found is a legacy Microsoft Learn page (Windows 2000 registry reference): Windows stores the NumLock state at logoff/shutdown in HKCU\Control Panel\Keyboard\InitialKeyboardIndicators (0 = off, 2 = on) and restores it at the next logon. Current Windows 11 behavior isn’t judged.
  • Battery: Keychron K0 Max 750 mAh, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Bluetooth device count: Not listed on the product page. The Perixx keypad is wired and has no battery.
  • Picks: new listings sold by Amazon.com or the maker’s own Amazon store, 4+ stars, Windows listed by the maker, and the slot’s connection; for the wired slot, the cheaper of the two Perixx listings including shipping. To fill the slots, the US rules were relaxed on October 24, 2026: the rating floor was halved; a model number that differs only in naming counts as a match when connection, layout and size match the maker’s specs (Perixx PPD-202 = PERIPAD-202 SKU PPD-202UB-11251: USB-A, no hub ports; PPD-202C-12060: USB-C with two USB-A ports; PPD-202HB-11091: USB-A with two USB-A ports; Keychron’s Amazon listing shows no model number and was matched by switch name, title and price); the brand’s own store counts as a seller; a slot requires only its connection; and the wireless slot accepts Keychron’s Windows listing, which names no version. The USB-C PERIPAD-202C met the rules before they were relaxed. Perixx lists Windows 7 or higher without naming Windows 11.
  • Typing feel, noise and speed weren’t tested on real hardware and aren’t judged.

Official values used

ItemValueSourceChecked
Microsoft Number Pad connectionBluetooth (5.0)microsoft.com Bluetooth 5.0 connection2026-10-08
Microsoft Number Pad devices it can pair with3 devicessupport.microsoft.com You can pair your number pad with up to three devices2026-10-08
Microsoft Number Pad battery life (maker figure)up to 24 monthsmicrosoft.com long battery life up to 24 months (battery life may vary)2026-10-08
Microsoft Number Pad battery typeone CR2032 coin cellsupport.microsoft.com Your number pad uses one coin-cell (CR2032) battery2026-10-08
Microsoft Number Pad supported OSWindows 11 or Windows 10 (Bluetooth 4.0 or later required)support.microsoft.com a PC that’s running Windows 11 or Windows 10 with support for Bluetooth 4.0 or l2026-10-08
Microsoft Number Pad calculator keyhas a Calculator key that opens the Windows Calculator appsupport.microsoft.com Press the Calculator key to open the Calculator app on your Windows PC2026-10-08
Satechi Bluetooth Extended Keypad connectionBluetoothsatechi.com Tech Specs: Connector Type Bluetooth2026-10-08
Satechi Bluetooth Extended Keypad size and weight (as the maker lists them)5.8 x 4.5 x 0.4 inches, 4.4 ozsatechi.com Tech Specs: Dimensions & Weight 5.8 x 4.5 x 0.4 inches, 4.4 oz2026-10-08
Satechi Bluetooth Extended Keypad supported OSLists Windows 10 devices (not Windows 7 or 8; pair via Control Panel on Windows 10). Windows 11 not stated. Built mainly for Mac, with macOS shortcut keyssatechi.com Compatibility: Windows list; Important: Does not support Windows 7 or 8, please2026-10-08
Perixx PERIPAD-202 connectionUSB wired (USB-A or USB-C)perixx.com Specs & Detail: Connection: USB-A cable, USB-C cable2026-10-08
Perixx PERIPAD-202 key switchscissor (X-type)perixx.com Switch type: Scissor; X-type scissor keys with non-synchronized function2026-10-08
Perixx PERIPAD-202 supported OSWindows 7 or higher (fully compatible), macOS Monterey 12.2 or higherperixx.com Compatibility: Fully compatible: Windows 7 or higher, MacOS Monterey 12.2 or hig2026-10-08
Kensington Slim Type Wired Numeric Keypad key count21 keyskensington.com 21-Key Number Pad with Four Shortcut Keys2026-10-08
Kensington Slim Type Wired Numeric Keypad connectionUSB-A wiredkensington.com Plug-and-Play Wired USB-A Connection2026-10-08
Kensington Slim Type Wired Numeric Keypad supported OSWindows, macOS, ChromeOS (some shortcut keys are Windows only)kensington.com Compatible with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS (some shortcut keys are only Window2026-10-08
Windows startup NumLock official description (legacy reference)Windows stores the NumLock state at logoff/shutdown in HKCU\Control Panel\Keyboard\InitialKeyboardIndicators (0 = off, 2 = on) and restores it at the next logonlearn.microsoft.com InitialKeyboardIndicators: Determines whether the NUMLOCK key is on or off when2026-10-08
Satechi Slim Aluminum Bluetooth Keypad (ST-SALKPM) connectionBluetoothsatechi.com Tech Specs: Connector Type Bluetooth2026-10-11
Satechi Slim Aluminum Bluetooth Keypad size and weight (as the maker lists them)4.5 x 3.125 x 0.31 inches, 3.5 ozsatechi.com Tech Specs: Dimensions & Weight 4.5 x 3.125 x 0.31 inches, 3.5 ounces2026-10-11
Satechi Slim Aluminum Bluetooth Keypad supported OSLists Windows 10/11 devices (not Windows 7 or 8; add it through the Control Panel). Also lists Mac and iPadsatechi.com Compatibility: Windows list; Important: Does not support Windows 7 or 8, please2026-10-11
Satechi Slim Aluminum Bluetooth Keypad extra keys the maker listsNo Tab or 00 key listedsatechi.com2026-10-11
Satechi Slim Aluminum Bluetooth Keypad thinnessSlim (Slim in the product name, 0.31 inches thick)satechi.com2026-10-11
Perixx PERIPAD-202C (USB-C, two-port hub) connectionUSB wired (USB-C cable, two USB-A hub ports)perixx.com Connection type: USB Type-C / USB hub: 2 × USB Type-A ports(SKU PPD-202C-12060)2026-10-11
Perixx PERIPAD-202C size and weight (as the maker lists them)131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 gperixx.com Specs: Dimensions 131 × 87 × 20 mm, Weight 100 g2026-10-11
Perixx PERIPAD-202C key switchscissorperixx.com Specs: Switch type: Scissor2026-10-11
Perixx PERIPAD-202C supported OSWindows 7 or higher (Windows 11 not named), macOS Monterey 12.2 or higherperixx.com Compatibility: Windows 7 or higher / MacOS Monterey 12.2 or higher2026-10-11
Perixx PERIPAD-202C extra keys the maker listsNo extra keys listedperixx.com2026-10-11
Perixx PERIPAD-202C thinnessSlim (the maker calls it a slim keypad, 20 mm high)perixx.com Keypad Design: 19 keys full-size slim keypad; 131 × 87 × 20 mm2026-10-11
Keychron K0 Max connection2.4 GHz wireless, Bluetooth 5.3 and wiredkeychron.com Key specs: Connectivity: 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth, wired; It supports 2.4 GHz, Bluetoo2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max key count27 keyskeychron.com Layout: 27 (Numpad)2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max extra keys the maker listsNo Tab, = or Backspace key listed; keys can be remapped in the Keychron Launcher web appkeychron.com2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max supported OSmacOS, Windows, Linux (no Windows version named)keychron.com works with macOS, Windows, Linux2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max battery life (maker’s figure, up to)up to 50 hourskeychron.com Battery: 750 mAh, up to 50 hours2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max battery capacity750 mAhkeychron.com Battery: 750 mAh2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max weight176.3 gkeychron.com Weight: 176.3 g / 0.39 lbs2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max width99 mmkeychron.com Dimensions: 99 x 116 mm (3.90 x 4.57”)2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max depth116 mmkeychron.com2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max thinnessUltra-slim per the maker, low-profile keycaps (no height listed)keychron.com Keychron K0 Max is an ultra-slim QMK wireless custom number pad; Keycaps: Low-pr2026-10-24
Keychron K0 Max paired devicesNot listed on the product pagekeychron.com2026-10-24
Perixx PERIPAD-202 key count19 keysperixx.com Keypad Design: 19 keys full-size slim keypad2026-10-24
Perixx PERIPAD-202 connector by SKUPPD-202UB-11251: USB-A, no hub ports; PPD-202C-12060: USB-C with two USB-A ports; PPD-202HB-11091: USB-A with two USB-A portsperixx.com Variants: PPD-202UB-11251 USB Type-A / No USB ports; PPD-202C-12060 USB Type-C /2026-10-24
Perixx PPD-202 (PERIPAD-202 USB-A, no hub ports, SKU PPD-202UB-11251) size and weight131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 gperixx.com SKU PPD-202UB-11251 (USB Type-A / No USB ports): 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g2026-10-24

Find a numeric keypad by connection: quick reference

The calculator in this article shows the result and a matching product for your own settings. Settings can be set in the URL; each link below opens the calculator with those settings.

SettingsResultCalculator
Wired USB, Any thickness✓ 3 models match. PPD-202UB, K0M-H4, PERIPAD-202C. Perixx PPD-202UB: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Keychron K0M-H4: wired USB / 2.4 GHz wireless / Bluetooth, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 99 × 116 mm, 176.3 g. Battery (K0M-H4): 750 mAh battery, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Perixx PERIPAD-202C: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Neither maker lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. A key that isn’t listed may still be there, so check the layout diagram. Neither maker states how the keypad handles NumLock, so that isn’t judgedOpen with these settings
Wired USB, Slim (maker says slim)✓ 3 models match. PPD-202UB, K0M-H4, PERIPAD-202C. Perixx PPD-202UB: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Keychron K0M-H4: wired USB / 2.4 GHz wireless / Bluetooth, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 99 × 116 mm, 176.3 g. Battery (K0M-H4): 750 mAh battery, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Perixx PERIPAD-202C: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Neither maker lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. A key that isn’t listed may still be there, so check the layout diagram. Slim means the maker calls the keypad slim or ultra-slim. Neither maker states how the keypad handles NumLock, so that isn’t judgedOpen with these settings
2.4 GHz (receiver), Any thickness✓ 1 model matches. K0M-H4. Keychron K0M-H4: wired USB / 2.4 GHz wireless / Bluetooth, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 99 × 116 mm, 176.3 g. Battery (K0M-H4): 750 mAh battery, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Neither maker lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. A key that isn’t listed may still be there, so check the layout diagram. Neither maker states how the keypad handles NumLock, so that isn’t judgedOpen with these settings
Bluetooth, Any thickness✓ 1 model matches. K0M-H4. Keychron K0M-H4: wired USB / 2.4 GHz wireless / Bluetooth, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 99 × 116 mm, 176.3 g. Battery (K0M-H4): 750 mAh battery, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Neither maker lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. A key that isn’t listed may still be there, so check the layout diagram. Neither maker states how the keypad handles NumLock, so that isn’t judgedOpen with these settings
Bluetooth, Slim (maker says slim)✓ 1 model matches. K0M-H4. Keychron K0M-H4: wired USB / 2.4 GHz wireless / Bluetooth, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 99 × 116 mm, 176.3 g. Battery (K0M-H4): 750 mAh battery, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Neither maker lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. A key that isn’t listed may still be there, so check the layout diagram. Slim means the maker calls the keypad slim or ultra-slim. Neither maker states how the keypad handles NumLock, so that isn’t judgedOpen with these settings
Any, Slim (maker says slim)✓ 3 models match. PPD-202UB, K0M-H4, PERIPAD-202C. Perixx PPD-202UB: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Keychron K0M-H4: wired USB / 2.4 GHz wireless / Bluetooth, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 99 × 116 mm, 176.3 g. Battery (K0M-H4): 750 mAh battery, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Perixx PERIPAD-202C: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Neither maker lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. A key that isn’t listed may still be there, so check the layout diagram. Slim means the maker calls the keypad slim or ultra-slim. Neither maker states how the keypad handles NumLock, so that isn’t judgedOpen with these settings
Any, Any thickness✓ 3 models match. PPD-202UB, K0M-H4, PERIPAD-202C. Perixx PPD-202UB: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Keychron K0M-H4: wired USB / 2.4 GHz wireless / Bluetooth, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 99 × 116 mm, 176.3 g. Battery (K0M-H4): 750 mAh battery, up to 50 hours (maker’s figure). Perixx PERIPAD-202C: wired USB, no Tab, = or Backspace listed, 131 × 87 × 20 mm, 100 g. Neither maker lists a Tab, = or Backspace key. A key that isn’t listed may still be there, so check the layout diagram. Neither maker states how the keypad handles NumLock, so that isn’t judgedOpen with these settings