Contents16
- How to compare screen size and paper size
- Apple Pencil pressure and hover
- When the base iPad or the 11-inch iPad Air makes sense
- CLIP STUDIO PAINT notes
- Main specs compared (weight, storage, Apple Pencil, memory)
- Picks by condition
- Reading and notes without pressure sensing, or pressure-sensitive handwriting with Apple Pencil Pro, 350 g or less, pages up to A6 at actual size
- A5 paper without pressure sensing, or a screen at or above CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s recommended 10.5 in
- Pressure-sensitive handwriting with A5 at actual size
- FAQ
- Should you buy the iPad mini?
- What’s the difference between the iPad Air and the iPad mini?
- Base iPad or iPad mini?
- How much storage should you get on the iPad mini?
- Which Apple Pencil works with the iPad mini?
- Is the iPad mini’s screen too small? Can you draw on it?
For reading, notes and pressure-sensitive handwriting with pages up to A6 shown at actual size, the smallest and lightest current 8.3 in model is enough. Among current iPads, a whole A5 page at actual size needs a 10.86 in or larger screen, and 10.86 in and 11.1 in are borderline. That compares the whole screen with the page, not the app’s drawing area after toolbars.
This compares the iPads Apple sells now, checked as of October 2026 against Apple’s spec pages and CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s official requirements. Nothing was tested on a real iPad, so speed and comfort aren’t judged. “Fits” means a page shown whole at actual size, so an A5 PDF can still be read zoomed or scrolled.
How to compare screen size and paper size
The iPad mini’s screen is about 176 × 116 mm. Compared as the whole screen before app toolbars, A6 fits at actual size, but A5 doesn’t. The real display area has rounded corners and is slightly smaller.
Apple doesn’t publish screen dimensions, so these are calculated from the diagonal and resolution.
| Paper size | iPad mini | Base iPad (A16 chip) | 11-inch iPad Air |
|---|---|---|---|
| A6 (105 × 148 mm) | Fits whole at actual size | Fits whole at actual size | Fits whole at actual size |
| A5 (148 × 210 mm) | Doesn’t fit whole at actual size | Fits (borderline) | Fits (borderline) |
| A4 (210 × 297 mm) | Doesn’t fit whole at actual size | Doesn’t fit whole at actual size | Doesn’t fit whole at actual size |
“Borderline” means the spare room is under 10% of the paper’s side.
The fit compares the whole screen with the page, not the app’s drawing area after toolbars. Calculated from Apple’s diagonal and resolution, no current iPad shows a whole A4 page at actual size. Even the 13-inch screens have a short side of about 198 mm, short of A4’s 210 mm.
Pick a use and the weight you’ll carry, and the tool shows the first model that fits.
Is the iPad mini enough for your use?
Pick your use, how much weight you'll carry and a paper size. It checks whether the iPad mini meets Apple's specs and CLIP STUDIO PAINT's official requirements, and shows the first model that fits (checking iPad mini, iPad, iPad Air, iPad Pro in that order), plus one iPad you can buy that fits.
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
Apple Pencil pressure and hover
In Apple’s comparison table (Pro vs. USB-C), pressure sensing is on Apple Pencil Pro, not on the USB-C model. The iPad mini supports the Pro, but the base iPad (A16 chip) doesn’t.
Per Apple’s Apple Pencil pages, the iPad mini supports Apple Pencil hover. No hover support was found for the base iPad (A16 chip) on Apple’s pages.
Only the base iPad (A16 chip) can use the Apple Pencil 1st generation, with an adapter. The iPad mini can’t use the 1st or 2nd generation. Apple’s table doesn’t cover the 1st generation, so its pressure support isn’t judged there, but CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s list includes it as a pressure pen.
When the base iPad or the 11-inch iPad Air makes sense
Among current iPads, a whole A5 page at actual size needs 10.86 in diagonal or more, judged on the whole screen, not the app’s drawing area. At 10.86 in and 11.1 in the margin is under 10%, so it’s borderline. From 12.9 in up there’s room.
For pressure-sensitive handwriting with A5 at actual size, the 11-inch iPad Air just fits, so it’s borderline. Without pressure sensing, the base iPad (A16 chip) also just fits.
CLIP STUDIO PAINT notes
Per CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s official requirements, the iPad mini is on the supported-device list for standard-size work, not the high-resolution list. The listed pressure pens include Apple Pencil Pro. The screen is below the recommended 10.5 in, and the required 3 GB of memory can’t be judged from Apple’s specs.
The iPad Air (M4) isn’t on the supported-device page, so this article doesn’t judge it.
Apple Pencil (USB-C) isn’t in the list of pressure-sensitive pens.
The listed OS versions are iPadOS 18 and iPadOS 26; the current iPadOS 27 wasn’t found there.
Main specs compared (weight, storage, Apple Pencil, memory)
Comparing Apple’s current iPads on its spec pages (October 2026), the iPad mini is the smallest and lightest model at 293 g, 171 g lighter than the 11-inch iPad Air.
| Model | Screen diagonal | Weight | Storage | Apple Pencil | Memory |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPad mini | 8.3 in | 293 g | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB | Pro, USB-C | Not stated by Apple |
| Base iPad (A16 chip) | 10.86 in | 477 g | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB | USB-C, 1st gen (adapter) | Not stated by Apple |
| 11-inch iPad Air | 10.86 in | 464 g | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB | Pro, USB-C | 12 GB |
- Weights are for the Wi-Fi models. The iPad mini with Wi-Fi + Cellular weighs 297 g.
- Apple’s tests put battery life at up to 10 hours. That’s Wi-Fi web browsing and video playback, not time spent drawing.
- Comparing Apple’s current iPads on its spec pages (October 2026), ProMotion is listed only for the iPad Pro; it wasn’t found for the iPad mini.
- The iPad mini can connect an external display over USB-C. Apple’s spec page lists native DisplayPort output over USB-C, and VGA, HDMI and DVI output with adapters (sold separately).
- Per Apple’s spec pages, memory for the iPad mini and the base iPad (A16 chip) wasn’t found. It is listed for the iPad Air and the iPad Pro.
- Per Apple’s spec pages, this article judges only official specs and requirements; speed and feel weren’t tested on real devices and aren’t judged.
Picks by condition
One pick per condition, from Amazon.com:
- Sold new by Amazon.com, with a configuration that matches Apple’s spec
- At least 100 ratings and 4 stars or more
- If several listings qualify, the cheapest of those checked
Prices vary, so check them on the retailer’s page.
Reading and notes without pressure sensing, or pressure-sensitive handwriting with Apple Pencil Pro, 350 g or less, pages up to A6 at actual size
Calculated from diagonal and resolution, the screen is about 176 × 116 mm, so A5 doesn’t fit.
Color variants are listed; price may vary by color. The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
A5 paper without pressure sensing, or a screen at or above CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s recommended 10.5 in
The A5 margin is under 10% of the paper’s side, so it’s borderline. Per CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s official requirements, this model is on the standard-size list, and its screen meets the recommended 10.5 in by a small margin, so it’s borderline. The required 3 GB of memory can’t be judged from Apple’s specs. The pressure pen is the 1st generation with an adapter, and Apple Pencil (USB-C) isn’t on the pressure-pen list.
The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
Pressure-sensitive handwriting with A5 at actual size
The A5 margin is small here too, so it’s borderline.
The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
FAQ
Should you buy the iPad mini?
For reading, notes and pressure-sensitive handwriting with pages up to A6 shown at actual size, the smallest and lightest current 8.3 in model is enough. Among current iPads, a whole A5 page at actual size needs a 10.86 in or larger screen, and 10.86 in and 11.1 in are borderline.
That compares the whole screen with the page, not the app’s drawing area after toolbars.
What’s the difference between the iPad Air and the iPad mini?
The current model with an 8.3 in screen is the smaller, lighter one at 293 g. The current 11-inch model with the M4 chip is 10.86 in diagonal and 464 g, with 12 GB of memory per Apple’s specs.
No memory figure was found for the 8.3 in model. Which is which is in the main specs table.
Base iPad or iPad mini?
Among current iPads, for pressure-sensitive handwriting with pages up to A6 at actual size, pick the 8.3 in model. For A5 at actual size with pressure, pick the 11-inch model with the M4 chip, which just fits; without pressure sensing, the A16-chip model also just fits.
Per Apple’s Apple Pencil pages, the current model with an 8.3 in screen supports Apple Pencil hover. No hover support was found for the current A16-chip model on Apple’s pages.
The models are in the main specs table.
How much storage should you get on the iPad mini?
Storage on the current model with an 8.3 in screen comes in three sizes: 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Every option exceeds CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s 6 GB free-space requirement, but Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so that isn’t calculated.
Which Apple Pencil works with the iPad mini?
Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C) both work with the current model with an 8.3 in screen, but the 1st and 2nd generations don’t. Only the Pro senses pressure, per Apple’s comparison table (Pro vs. USB-C), so the USB-C model is enough without it.
Is the iPad mini’s screen too small? Can you draw on it?
Calculated from Apple’s diagonal and resolution, an 8.3 in diagonal screen works out to about 176 × 116 mm. Compared as the whole screen before app toolbars, A6 fits at actual size, but A5 doesn’t.
The real display area has rounded corners and is slightly smaller. Per CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s official requirements, the current model with an 8.3 in screen is on the supported-device list for standard-size work, not the high-resolution list.
The listed pressure pens include Apple Pencil Pro. The screen is below the recommended 10.5 in, and the required 3 GB of memory can’t be judged from Apple’s specs.
Nothing was tested on a real iPad, so comfort isn’t judged.
Data and formulas used (for verification)
How this was checked:
Sources: Apple specs for iPad mini, iPad (A16) and iPad Air, and Compare iPad / Apple Pencil and Apple Pencil compatibility / CLIP STUDIO PAINT system requirements, supported-device FAQ and the ISO 216 table (University of Cambridge)
Method
- Current lineup: the six models in ‘Current iPad models’ on Apple’s compare page: 13- and 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13- and 11-inch iPad Air (M4), iPad (A16) and iPad mini (A17 Pro). Older models are not covered.
- Specs: Apple’s spec page for each model (Japan and US) and the compare page. Memory is quoted only where Apple states it (iPad Pro and iPad Air); otherwise ‘not stated’ and no figure is guessed.
- Battery life is Apple’s test figure on pre-production units, not drawing time.
- Apple Pencil support: Apple’s ‘Apple Pencil compatibility’ page (published 2026-03-31) and the Apple Pencil page. The page states pressure sensing is on Apple Pencil Pro but not Apple Pencil (USB-C).
- App requirements: Procreate 5.4.14 (current per its Help Center) needs iPadOS 16.3 or later; CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad per its official requirements (iPadOS 18 / 26, 3GB required, 4GB recommended, 6GB for high-resolution work) and its supported-device FAQ.
- Screen dimensions: Apple’s diagonal (measured as a rectangle, in inches) × 25.4, split into long and short sides by the resolution’s aspect ratio. Long = diagonal mm × horizontal px ÷ √(h px² + v px²); short = diagonal mm × vertical px ÷ √(h px² + v px²). Example: the iPad mini’s 8.3 × 25.4 = 210.8 mm split by 2266:1488 gives about 176 × 116 mm. The long side matches resolution ÷ ppi within 1.5 mm. As Apple notes, the real display area has rounded corners and is smaller.
- Whole page at actual size: the paper’s long and short sides (ISO 216: A6 105 × 148 mm, A5 148 × 210 mm, A4 210 × 297 mm) compared with the screen’s. If the margin (screen − paper) is under 10% of that paper side, it’s borderline.
- Use conditions: reading/notes without Apple Pencil has none. Pressure-sensitive handwriting needs Apple Pencil Pro support (Apple’s Apple Pencil comparison covers Pro and USB-C, and only Pro has pressure sensing). Pressure on the Apple Pencil (1st generation) isn’t in that table, so it isn’t judged.
- CLIP STUDIO PAINT: being on its supported-device page and able to use a pen from its pressure-pen list (Apple Pencil 1st gen, 2nd gen, Pro) are checked as required; a 10.5 in or larger screen is checked separately as a recommendation (borderline if Apple’s diagonal exceeds it by under 10%). Memory (3 GB required) is judged only where Apple states it (iPad Air, iPad Pro); for the iPad mini and iPad (A16) it can’t be judged. The iPad Air (M4), absent from the supported-device page, is treated as not listed, not as unsupported.
- Calculator order: it looks for the first model that fits in the order iPad mini → iPad (A16) → 11-inch iPad Air → 13-inch iPad Air → 11-inch iPad Pro → 13-inch iPad Pro (smaller lines first). This is not a price comparison. Carry-weight limits (350 g, 500 g) use Wi-Fi weights; the Cellular models fall in the same bands.
- Products: new Wi-Fi models with standard glass on Amazon.co.jp and Amazon.com. A candidate needs 100+ ratings, 4.0+ stars, Amazon as seller, a configuration matching Apple’s spec, and (Japan) no strong sakura warning.
Official values used
| Item | Value | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 13 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (long side) | 2752 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (short side) | 2064 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 579 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 582 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): body height | 281.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): body width | 215.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): body thickness | 5.1 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): chip | M5 text | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): storage options | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): memory | 12GB on 256GB/512GB models, 16GB on 1TB/2TB models (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): port | Thunderbolt / USB 4 port (USB-C connector). USB 4 (up to 40Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery capacity | 38.99 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): refresh rate | ProMotion technology with an adaptive refresh rate of 10Hz to 120Hz | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): display type, lamination and color gamut | Ultra Retina XDR (tandem OLED). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): Nano-texture glass | Nano-texture display glass is an option on 1TB and 2TB models | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 11.1 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (long side) | 2420 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (short side) | 1668 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 444 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 446 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): body height | 249.7 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): body width | 177.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): body thickness | 5.3 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): chip | M5 text | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): storage options | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): memory | 12GB on 256GB/512GB models, 16GB on 1TB/2TB models (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): port | Thunderbolt / USB 4 port (USB-C connector). USB 4 (up to 40Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery capacity | 31.29 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): refresh rate | ProMotion technology with an adaptive refresh rate of 10Hz to 120Hz | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): display type, lamination and color gamut | Ultra Retina XDR (tandem OLED). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): Nano-texture glass | Nano-texture display glass is an option on 1TB and 2TB models | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 12.9 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (long side) | 2732 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (short side) | 2048 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 616 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 617 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): body height | 280.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): body width | 214.9 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): body thickness | 6.1 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): chip | M4 text | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): memory | 12GB (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): port | USB-C port. USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): battery capacity | 36.59 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 10.86 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (long side) | 2360 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (short side) | 1640 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 464 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 465 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): body height | 247.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): body width | 178.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): body thickness | 6.1 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): chip | M4 text | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): memory | 12GB (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): port | USB-C port. USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): battery capacity | 28.93 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 10.86 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): resolution (long side) | 2360 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): resolution (short side) | 1640 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 477 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 481 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): body height | 248.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): body width | 179.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): body thickness | 7 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): chip | A16 text | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): memory (not stated by Apple) | not stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): port | USB-C port. USB 2.0 (up to 480Mb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): battery capacity | 28.93 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). No full lamination stated. sRGB color (no P3 stated) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) (needs the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): Apple Pencil hover | Not listed as supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 8.3 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): resolution (long side) | 2266 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): resolution (short side) | 1488 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): pixel density | 326 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 293 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 297 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): body height | 195.4 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): body width | 134.8 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): body thickness | 6.3 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): chip | A17 Pro text | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): memory (not stated by Apple) | not stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): port | USB-C port. USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): battery capacity | 19.3 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil Pro: pressure sensing | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil (USB-C): pressure sensing | Not supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil Pro: tilt sensing | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil (USB-C): tilt sensing | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Features only Apple Pencil Pro has | Squeeze, barrel roll, haptic feedback, double tap and Find My (not on Apple Pencil (USB-C)) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad models with Apple Pencil hover | Supported on iPad Pro (M4, M5), iPad Air (M2, M3, M4) and iPad mini (A17 Pro), among others; iPad (A16) is not listed | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPadOS needed for Apple Pencil (USB-C) | iPadOS 17.1.1 or later | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16) and Apple Pencil (1st generation) | iPad (A16) also works with Apple Pencil (1st generation) when paired and charged through the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil (2nd generation) support | None of the six current iPads supports Apple Pencil (2nd generation) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad models Apple currently sells | 13-inch iPad Pro (M5), 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 11-inch iPad Air (M4), iPad (A16), iPad mini (A17 Pro) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Latest iPadOS version on Apple’s iPadOS page | iPadOS 27 text | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Procreate for iPad: current version | 5.4.14 text | help.procreate.com Procreate FAQ: The current version of Procreate for iPad is 5.4.14 | 2026-10-08 |
| iPadOS required by Procreate 5.4.14 (or later) | 16.3 text | help.procreate.com Procreate FAQ: Procreate 5.4.14 requires an iPad running iPadOS 16.3 or newer | 2026-10-08 |
| Procreate: current iPads that qualify | Procreate lists no model names, only iPadOS 16.3 or later. All six current iPads run iPadOS 27, so all meet it | help.procreate.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Procreate: maximum canvas by device | 134 megapixels (11,585px x 11,585px) on iPad Pro (M4, M5) and iPad Air (M2, M3); 67 megapixels (8,192px x 8,192px) on iPad mini (6th and 7th generation). iPad (A16) and iPad Air (M4) are not listed | help.procreate.com | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: App Store version | 5.1.4 text | apps.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: OS in the official requirements | iPadOS 18 / iPadOS 26 (iPadOS 27 is not mentioned) | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: memory requirement | 3GB or more required, 4GB or more recommended; 6GB or more recommended for high-resolution illustration and manga | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: recommended display size | A display of 10.5 inches or larger is recommended | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: free storage | 6GB or more of free storage | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: pressure-sensitive pens in the official requirements | Apple Pencil (1st generation), Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil Pro (Apple Pencil (USB-C) is not listed) | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT supported devices: high-resolution list | High-resolution illustration and manga list: 13- and 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), (M4), 13- and 11-inch iPad Air (M3, M2) and others. iPad Air (M4) is not on the page | support.clip-studio.com | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT supported devices: standard-size list | Standard-size illustration and web manga list: iPad (A16), iPad mini (A17 Pro) and others | support.clip-studio.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad Air (M4) and CLIP STUDIO PAINT | iPad Air (M4) is not on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page (FAQ updated 2025-12-02) | support.clip-studio.com | 2026-10-08 |
| A6 paper short side | 105 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A6 paper long side | 148 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A5 paper short side | 148 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A5 paper long side | 210 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A4 paper short side | 210 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A4 paper long side | 297 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| Models in the feature comparison on Apple’s Apple Pencil page | The feature comparison covers only Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C); pressure for the 1st and 2nd generation is not in that table | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): video output | native DisplayPort output over USB-C, and VGA, HDMI and DVI output with adapters (sold separately) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
Is the iPad mini enough for your use?: quick reference
The calculator in this article shows the result and a matching product for your own settings. Settings can be set in the URL; each link below opens the calculator with those settings.
| Settings | Result | Calculator |
|---|---|---|
| Reading / notes (no pressure needed), Doesn’t matter, Not set | ✓ The iPad mini fits. Condition: no pressure sensing needed, so only screen and weight are checked. The iPad mini meets these conditions. First model that fits: iPad mini (A17 Pro) (293 g, 8.3-inch diagonal). Storage options for the iPad mini (A17 Pro): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Reading / notes (no pressure needed), 350 g or less, Not set | ✓ The iPad mini fits. Condition: no pressure sensing needed, so only screen and weight are checked. The iPad mini meets these conditions. First model that fits: iPad mini (A17 Pro) (293 g, 8.3-inch diagonal). Storage options for the iPad mini (A17 Pro): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Reading / notes (no pressure needed), Doesn’t matter, A6 | ✓ The iPad mini fits. Condition: no pressure sensing needed, so only screen and weight are checked. Paper: a whole A6 page (105 × 148 mm) at actual size. The iPad mini meets these conditions. First model that fits: iPad mini (A17 Pro) (293 g, 8.3-inch diagonal). About 11 mm to spare for A6 (calculated from the diagonal measured as a rectangle; the real display area has rounded corners and is smaller). Storage options for the iPad mini (A17 Pro): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Reading / notes (no pressure needed), Doesn’t matter, A5 | △ The iPad (A16) just fits. Condition: no pressure sensing needed, so only screen and weight are checked. Paper: a whole A5 page (148 × 210 mm) at actual size. A whole A5 page doesn’t fit at actual size on the iPad mini’s screen (about 176 × 116 mm). First model that fits: iPad (A16) (477 g, 10.86-inch diagonal). About 9 mm to spare for A5 (under 10% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. The real display area has rounded corners and is smaller than calculated. Lighter model that also fits: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5) (444 g). Storage options for the iPad (A16): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Reading / notes (no pressure needed), Doesn’t matter, A4 | ✕ No model fits. Condition: no pressure sensing needed, so only screen and weight are checked. Paper: a whole A4 page (210 × 297 mm) at actual size. A whole A4 page doesn’t fit at actual size on the iPad mini’s screen (about 176 × 116 mm). No current iPad shows a whole A4 page at actual size (even the 13-inch screens have a short side of about 198 mm) | Open with these settings |
| Handwriting with pressure, Doesn’t matter, Not set | ✓ The iPad mini fits. Condition: Apple Pencil Pro support (in Apple’s comparison table of the Pro and the USB-C version, pressure sensing is on the Pro; the USB-C version doesn’t have it). The iPad mini meets these conditions. First model that fits: iPad mini (A17 Pro) (293 g, 8.3-inch diagonal). It also supports Apple Pencil hover. Storage options for the iPad mini (A17 Pro): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Handwriting with pressure, 350 g or less, Not set | ✓ The iPad mini fits. Condition: Apple Pencil Pro support (in Apple’s comparison table of the Pro and the USB-C version, pressure sensing is on the Pro; the USB-C version doesn’t have it). The iPad mini meets these conditions. First model that fits: iPad mini (A17 Pro) (293 g, 8.3-inch diagonal). It also supports Apple Pencil hover. Storage options for the iPad mini (A17 Pro): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Handwriting with pressure, Doesn’t matter, A5 | △ The 11-inch iPad Air (M4) just fits. Condition: Apple Pencil Pro support (in Apple’s comparison table of the Pro and the USB-C version, pressure sensing is on the Pro; the USB-C version doesn’t have it). Paper: a whole A5 page (148 × 210 mm) at actual size. A whole A5 page doesn’t fit at actual size on the iPad mini’s screen (about 176 × 116 mm). First model that fits: 11-inch iPad Air (M4) (464 g, 10.86-inch diagonal). About 9 mm to spare for A5 (under 10% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. The real display area has rounded corners and is smaller than calculated. Lighter model that also fits: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5) (444 g). It also supports Apple Pencil hover. Storage options for the 11-inch iPad Air (M4): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Handwriting with pressure, 350 g or less, A5 | ✕ No model fits. Condition: Apple Pencil Pro support (in Apple’s comparison table of the Pro and the USB-C version, pressure sensing is on the Pro; the USB-C version doesn’t have it). Paper: a whole A5 page (148 × 210 mm) at actual size. A whole A5 page doesn’t fit at actual size on the iPad mini’s screen (about 176 × 116 mm). No model in this weight range fits. Set carry weight to “Doesn’t matter” to see one | Open with these settings |
| Handwriting with pressure, 500 g or less, A5 | △ The 11-inch iPad Air (M4) just fits. Condition: Apple Pencil Pro support (in Apple’s comparison table of the Pro and the USB-C version, pressure sensing is on the Pro; the USB-C version doesn’t have it). Paper: a whole A5 page (148 × 210 mm) at actual size. A whole A5 page doesn’t fit at actual size on the iPad mini’s screen (about 176 × 116 mm). First model that fits: 11-inch iPad Air (M4) (464 g, 10.86-inch diagonal). About 9 mm to spare for A5 (under 10% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. The real display area has rounded corners and is smaller than calculated. Lighter model that also fits: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5) (444 g). It also supports Apple Pencil hover. Storage options for the 11-inch iPad Air (M4): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated | Open with these settings |
| Drawing in CLIP STUDIO, Doesn’t matter, Not set | △ The iPad (A16) just fits. Condition: listed on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page and able to use a pen from its pressure-pen list (Apple Pencil 1st gen, 2nd gen, Pro). A 10.5-inch or larger screen is recommended. The iPad mini is on the supported-device list (standard-size work) and Apple Pencil Pro is a listed pressure pen, but its screen is below the recommended 10.5 inches. Apple doesn’t state memory for the iPad mini or the iPad (A16), so whether they meet CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s required 3 GB can’t be judged. First model that also meets the recommended screen size: iPad (A16) (477 g, 10.86 in). Under 10% to spare against the recommended 10.5 inches, so it’s borderline. The iPad (A16) can use the Apple Pencil (1st generation) with an adapter, and that pen is on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s pressure-pen list. First model whose memory Apple also states: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5) (12 GB, above the required 3 GB and the 6 GB recommended for high-resolution work). Storage options for the iPad (A16): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated. The iPad Air (M4) isn’t on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page, so it isn’t judged. CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 / 26; the current iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |
| Drawing in CLIP STUDIO, 350 g or less, Not set | △ The iPad mini is listed, but its screen is below the recommendation. Condition: listed on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page and able to use a pen from its pressure-pen list (Apple Pencil 1st gen, 2nd gen, Pro). A 10.5-inch or larger screen is recommended. The iPad mini is on the supported-device list (standard-size work) and Apple Pencil Pro is a listed pressure pen, but its screen is below the recommended 10.5 inches. Apple doesn’t state memory for the iPad mini or the iPad (A16), so whether they meet CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s required 3 GB can’t be judged. First model that fits: iPad mini (A17 Pro) (293 g, 8.3-inch diagonal). It also supports Apple Pencil hover. Storage options for the iPad mini (A17 Pro): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated. The iPad Air (M4) isn’t on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page, so it isn’t judged. CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 / 26; the current iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |
| Drawing in CLIP STUDIO, 500 g or less, Not set | △ The iPad (A16) just fits. Condition: listed on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page and able to use a pen from its pressure-pen list (Apple Pencil 1st gen, 2nd gen, Pro). A 10.5-inch or larger screen is recommended. The iPad mini is on the supported-device list (standard-size work) and Apple Pencil Pro is a listed pressure pen, but its screen is below the recommended 10.5 inches. Apple doesn’t state memory for the iPad mini or the iPad (A16), so whether they meet CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s required 3 GB can’t be judged. First model that also meets the recommended screen size: iPad (A16) (477 g, 10.86 in). Under 10% to spare against the recommended 10.5 inches, so it’s borderline. The iPad (A16) can use the Apple Pencil (1st generation) with an adapter, and that pen is on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s pressure-pen list. First model whose memory Apple also states: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5) (12 GB, above the required 3 GB and the 6 GB recommended for high-resolution work). Storage options for the iPad (A16): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated. The iPad Air (M4) isn’t on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page, so it isn’t judged. CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 / 26; the current iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |
| Drawing in CLIP STUDIO, Doesn’t matter, A5 | △ The iPad (A16) just fits. Condition: listed on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page and able to use a pen from its pressure-pen list (Apple Pencil 1st gen, 2nd gen, Pro). A 10.5-inch or larger screen is recommended. Paper: a whole A5 page (148 × 210 mm) at actual size. A whole A5 page doesn’t fit at actual size on the iPad mini’s screen (about 176 × 116 mm). First model that also meets the recommended screen size: iPad (A16) (477 g, 10.86 in). Under 10% to spare against the recommended 10.5 inches, so it’s borderline. Apple doesn’t state memory for the iPad mini or the iPad (A16), so whether they meet CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s required 3 GB can’t be judged. The iPad (A16) can use the Apple Pencil (1st generation) with an adapter, and that pen is on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s pressure-pen list. First model whose memory Apple also states: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5) (12 GB, above the required 3 GB and the 6 GB recommended for high-resolution work). About 9 mm to spare for A5 (under 10% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. The real display area has rounded corners and is smaller than calculated. Storage options for the iPad (A16): 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB. Apple gives no guide to how much each use needs, so it isn’t calculated. The iPad Air (M4) isn’t on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page, so it isn’t judged. CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 / 26; the current iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |

